Emme is a HIPAA-compliant company and your data privacy is our priority. Read more here.

May 28, 2021

Meet Emme: Daniela Kohls

What is your role at Emme?

Sr. Software Developer.

What are your hope or ambitions for Emme in the next 5 years?

I hope that Emme is a known brand name and our product line expands to other products that are helping to keep women well and healthy.

What is one thing that surprised you about working at Emme?

How much a small team like ours can accomplish.

Who has influenced you most when it comes to how you approach your work?

Before I became an engineer, I was a middle school teacher. It taught me how to structure and break down my work. This is still a big part of how I approach my work. But you asked for the who — there are way too many people that had influenced who I am and how I work to name here.

How do you define success?

I am a bit of an overachiever. Success often means for me that everything works. But I am learning that success can also mean that something surfaced I had not considered and I can learn from it.

What skills do you think everyone should learn?

Dancing: Ballroom, hip hop, the kazachok...it does not matter. No need to achieve perfection at it. Dancing frees up the soul from the bad that happens every day. At least for me.

If you could interview one person (dead or alive)who would it be?

I think I would love to interview my great-grandmother, Johanna. I never met her, but from what I heard about her, she must have been a powerful woman. She divorced her deadbeat husband in Austria in the 1930s while raising 3 kids and running a business that made her wealthy while paying alimony for him.

What's your secret talent that no one knows about?

I can read people really well. I often sense when someone lies to me. Probably another skill I picked up as a teacher.

Want to join the Emme team?

See open positions here!